No 4G / 5G connection Sunrise Switzerland

Dear Fairphone-Forum

Since I got the new F4 I have a new subscription from a large swiss telecomunication brand (Sunrise) that offers 5G. Sadly, the connection to 5G never worked. Since the new update, not even 4G works and I just receive LTE. I got a new SIM card and even with eSIM it doesn’t work.

With my friend’s SIM card (from another provider) the 5G worked. I also disabled the VoLTE, as I read in another forum post and checked all my settings.

Do you have any idea what I can do?

Thanks alot!

Have you checked with your provider whether there is 5G currently available in your area, whether there’s scheduled or unscheduled maintenance occurring, and whether you have the right APN settings?
Sunrise’s 5G seems to be offered on the n78 band, which is supported by the Fairphone 4. Also plenty of overlap between their 4G bands and the bands supported by the FP4.

2 Likes

4G and LTE are different names for the same thing. So unless you mean something else, only the name might have changed.

5 Likes

Well, Not exactly… See e.g. here or here.

3 Likes

But there is no difference in the meaning of the symbols in the status bar.

In Germany for example, a T-Mobile driven phone shows LTE in the status bar, a phone with a Vodafone card shows 4G. Both means exactly the same.

4 Likes

So this means they use the same protocol but the phone displays it differently (so thee provider decides the symbol)? :thinking:

As far as I know. My friends with an iPhone and T-Mobile have LTE shown, an iPhone with Vodafone 4G.

2 Likes

Thank you all for the replies.
So my provider just gave me a new SIM card (and afterwards the eSIM login). I checked that in my is 5G is available. And three weeks ago I received a 4G net (with the according symbol) but now just LTE. And the speed is also rather low (around 50MB upload and download).
So I still have no clue what’s wrong…