LineageOS fork including MicroG

On German site heise.de I found this article (
https://heise.de/newsticker/meldung/LineageOS-Ableger-vermeidet-Google-Code-3879358.html) telling there was a new fork of LineageOS replacing certain Google proprietary parts with open source MicroG components.
According to https://lineage.microg.org/ MicroG forged the code because of concerns on LineageOS side about including the signature spoofing required to make the MicroG parts work.

I’m a bit ambivalent. On the one hand side I like the idea of using open source instead of Google proprietary code, on the other side I can understand some reluctance because of potential security issues.
But I’m no Android expert or developer. So what do you experts think about this fork?

7 Likes

Have you read the FAQ?

“Wait, on their FAQ page I see that they don’t want to include the patch for security reasons. Is this ROM unsafe?
No. LineageOS’ developers hide behind the “security reasons” shield, but in reality they don’t care enough about the freedom of their users to risk to upset Google by giving them an alternative to the Play Services.
The signature spoofing could be an unsafe feature only if the user blindly gives any permission to any app, as this permission can’t be obtained automatically by the apps.
Moreover, to further strengthen the security of our ROM, we modified the signature spoofing permission so that only system privileged apps can obtain it, and no security threat is posed to our users.”

I guess as soon as the FP2-Rom is out, I’m gonna give it a try.

2 Likes

Yes, I read this, but this sounds a bit polemic to me. I wouldn’t want to assume, that the LineageOS just “don’t care enough”.

1 Like

Samsung and others also claim that using CustomRoms is a security issue. Depends on whom you trust.

Thank you for this headsup! This ROM is a dream come true, :smiley: