Process irq/288-wcd9xxx draining battery

Hi,
I’m using a Fairphone 2 with fairphone open OS, under android 7, (build-number: fp2_sibon-userdebug 7.1.2 19.11.2 sibon-24df0be9), and my battery loses systematically 50% to 90% overnight, and after having tried all sorts of things to stop it, my brother checked in a terminal (using Termux) with the top command which processes were using the CPU. A process named irq/288-wcd9xxx uses 15-20% of the CPU permanently, which could explain why my battery simply dies in 12 hours. Here’s a screenshot of what I get.

As kill or kill -9 has absolutely no effect on it (it seems to work when running the command, but the process is still there afterwards), does anyone have any idea about what it is, and how to kill it, or stop it?
Thanks a lot!

I am no techie, so I did the one thing I could think of.
I entered that info into the search engine of my choice.
It is really interesting, how many results (dating back to 2012) that yields, all having in addition the words “battery drain”.
Unfortunately none of those results is labeled “problem solved” and all the tech-info is beyond me.

3 Likes

It’s hardware interrupts coming from the audio codec (the FP 2 has a WCD9320). Are you experiencing any audio issues?
If you have an opportunity to swap out the bottom module with one from another FP2 that might be worth a shot (I wouldn’t suggest buying a new one before testing this).

3 Likes

I never had any audio issues, apart from finding my loudspeaker wasn’t very loud during phone calls (compared to when listening music for example), which I didn’t consider abnormal.
I may have the opportunity to try swapping modules, but not before a few months. I guess I’ll have to be patient :slight_smile: