Problems with play store even after 'hard reset'

Hey there, i tried to find a solution myself, but didnt manage so far. I am not an expert on these kind of things also… Problem: I have a first edition fairphone and after an update in august the play store didnt work any longer (there was no play store). Also all google ‘files’ vanished and I couldnt get them back. So I only used the very few apps left :slight_smile: Yesterday I did (several) 'hard reset’s on my fairphone as no other hint in forums or where ever would work. And even now I cant find any of the folders (Google app installer,… no folder with the word google in it actually) in apps/widgets. I’ve got the impression not everything got erased. All the data (pics,…) are gone, but still some few icons (as camera, picture folder,…) are still in the same place as I put them before, even after the reset.
Thanks for your help!

Did you reinstall the google play store after the hard reset.
You find instructions here

Thanks for your fast reply!! I already tried to re-install it, following the same instruction you send me. But I cant find the tools I would need for that. Also I just read I won’t be able to download the play store. So if its not on my phone (and I cant find the needed things in widgets as written in the instructions) I won’t be able to use it. Hm… out of ideas.

Hi @tanzdermolekuele,

You can always download its APK and install it from your SD :slight_smile:

I hope it will be fixed soon.

Cheers!

Hi there!

Do you still have the Fairphone Updater? Is it possible the by accident, you did not upgrade to Fairphone OS 1.6 but “Vanilla” Jelly Bean 4.2.2?

The upgrader is a bit misleading i think it is easy to get confused.

If you actually did “update” to Jelly Bean not Fairphone OS, this would be an explanation.

On a side note: The Google Apps installer is a widget, not an app.