Physically add second sim

So I’ve been looking into modifying the fp4 and I found that the physical wiring is there for a second Sim slot. So is there a way to solderer on a second slot and make it work?
I know that there might be software lacking but since the physical part is there couldn’t we use a custom OS and add the software?
I have education in electrical and software engineering so I know generally how these things work but I’m still new to smartphones so I could be missing something.
Thanks for any help

Two more photos (added by @urs_lesse with permission by @Atlantian

9 Likes

Well, upfront: I cannot provide any information for you (I’m sure you are fully aware of the warranty certainly being voided once you modify the hardware like that), but I’m already grateful for your photo – first time I get to see the opened :heart: core module :+1:

3 Likes

oh ya I’ve already done so many things that voided the warranty that at this point as long as I don’t break my phone it’s fine

3 Likes

This immediately begs the question: Why the fuck don’t they ship their phones with 2 sim card trays out of the box, when the hardware is cleary there?? I am very negatively surprised by this, since they purposefully made the phone worse than it could’ve been.

3 Likes

It might not actually be there. I can’t follow any of the lines because it’s all black so it might do nothing. But then why is it there? It’s all just really weird. My theory is that they wanted to and they put it in the prototype but for a reason had to remove it but were too far along to change the PCB. But then why did they change every other part and not this one?

Does this somehow help?

5 Likes

Ya thanks! It’s going to take some time for me to check all of this but at a glance all the physical wiring might be there so this should work

3 Likes