My FP2: 3 years and counting

Hi Everyone
I have been using my FP2 for three years now. I ordered it during the crowdfunding in July 2015. I am happy about it and it’s my dear daily companion since I received it. I had to exchange the bottom module twice and the screen once on warranty. I bought myself the slim case due to damaged original bumper. I upgraded both my cameras to the newer one’s. I am very happy with the product.
What are your long term experience with the FP2?
I would like to add the three years of FP2 to my title. Is it possible? Thanks!

15 Likes

I granted you the bage, now you go to your profile to select it as a title.

1 Like

I think this forum can definitely use some positive reviews, so here’s mine!

I got my FP2 in June of 2018, and it’s been smooth sailing.

First thing I did was install FPOOS, which suffered from random reboots; this problem went away when I reflashed the operating system, so no real problems there.

I got my FP2 with the translucent case, which cracked after some time like so many did and Fairphone replaced it free of charge (as they did for everyone), so again, no problem.

Other than that, the headphone jack started underperforming recently because for some time, I kept my phone in a jacket pocket where the headphone plug was pressed on by a bag strap, bending the socket out of shape. So I took the phone apart, rebent whatever needed rebending, and it’s working fine now. And I’ve moved my phone to a different pocket!

It takes great pictures (OpenCamera in HDR mode can produce some especially nice shots), it’s stable, it has good battery life. The hardware is perfectly capable and will be for years to come - in my estimation anyway.

A good, solid phone with a focus on functionality rather than gimmicks, and of course, great reparability for those who are so inclined. I used my previous phone, a Sony, for seven years, and I hope to use this one for a decade at least - and it’s looking good so far.

8 Likes