From FP1 directly to FP4

Hello everybody, my name is Anke and so far I’ve been just a reader in this forum. Though I do not really understand all the tech stuff the discussions of those who do are still interesting to me. I’ve been using my FP1 since January 2014 running still on Android 4.2.2. This was my first smartphone ever and I was determined to use it for 10 years! But more and more apps can’t be updated or don’t work at all and I don’t dare to install the “inofficial” update to 4.4. because I am only a “dumb user” :blush:. Anyway, also Android 4.4 would be a bit outdated. In addition, with the stop of 3G in Germany I am quite limited to the mobile use of the phone when I am in Germany (I live in Switzerland though, where 3G still works). Making a long story short: I need a new phone and as I want to support Fairphone I plan to pre-order a FP4. I understand that I have to buy a new USB-C cable to be able to charge the new phone. But which offered by fairphone one would be best and what’s the difference anyway? And do I also need to buy a new charger or will I be able to use the original FP1 charger with a USB-C cable? I intend to use the new phone at least as long as my beloved FP1 so I would be glad if you guys could advise me what additional equipment would make the most sense. Thanks a lot in advance and kind regards, Anke

13 Likes

I understand that’s not the way you want to go anyway, but just as a reference for others perhaps interested … if you happen to have Fairphone Angels in your vicinity, they might be able to help you in person with something like this, it’s worth asking … 👼 The Fairphone Angels Program and Map (Local support by community members)

Fairphone mention the USB-C to USB-C Cable 2.0 as an option sold separately on https://shop.fairphone.com/en/buy-fairphone-4.
According to the details this cable supports fast-charging the Fairphone 4.