FP3 HW extension port?

One thing which drove me to buy a Fairphone was the internal HW extension port which existed on the FP2. It is actually an USB port, which allows to connect HW modules based on a Micro-Controller with a USB interface) you can design yourself (I’m an electronics engineer). There are a few examples on Hackaday.io.
I really hope its exists also on the FP3, can somebody tell something about that? Mechanical and electrical specs?

3 Likes

No, it doesn’t exist.

1 Like

:crying_cat_face: g: big disappointment here. Is there any little space inside where a tiny board could be fitted? I haven’t opened it yet. Is the dev team listening?

I don’t think so.

Not here. This is a community forum.

1 Like

Someone modded a qi charger via USB-C on their FP3.

@paulakreuzer a modified USB PCB may be the way. Some reverse engineering on order :wink:

2 Likes

Hi @Monica.Ciovica:
Do you know what made FP ditch the HW extension connector for the FP3, when it was on the FP2?
And what would the dev team think about a modified USB module with such a capability?

4 Likes

Hey I’ve already done that for the FP2, so what stops me from doing it to a FP3, other than the fact that I don’t have one. But I would find it way better if they made a extension port with some GPIOs and SPI/I2C directly from the CPU

5 Likes

We can work on it together, I have an FP3. I’m an electronics engineer with access to an altium license, or maybe I could get myself to use kicad or eagle.

4 Likes

I agree about your remark about Fairphone embedding some interfaces directly.

3 Likes

Now that I’m talking to an engineer:
I like KiCAD and am quite experienced with it. I also use blender to make 3d models for the housing and have a 3d printer to print them out in house. It might be more difficult, because they now a different style of connector, no longer pads.