Bypass screen pattern

My FP3 does not recognise my screen unlock pattern any more - or I’m driving crazy… I’ve been using this pattern since I bought the FP three years ago every day, bt suddenly it says “wrong pattern”. :-o
However… I obviously would like to avoid a hard reset and I’ve browsed the forum already for similar posts and found a hint by @Ingo from Jan '19 which says “It’s actually pretty easy for non-encrypted phones: Remove /Bypass Lockscreen With Recovery | XDA Forums 156”. The problem is that I don’t understand a word of how to boot my device with TWRP for Fairphone 3. Would Ingo (or anyone else) have the amiability of translating the how-to for a non-professionial?
And: do I understand well that if my FP3 is encrypted than there is in any case no chance to save my data?
Thanks a lot for your wise advice!
Rainer

Hi and welcome.

Did you get as far as downloading to your computer and reading this?

Welcome to the community forum.

You would only need to concern yourself with that if you run your phone with an unlocked bootloader (if this sounds unfamiliar, you probably don’t), else you can’t boot anything other than what is installed on the phone.

Locking as well as unlocking the bootloader will force a factory reset for security reasons.

User data on the Fairphone 3 is encrypted by default. Since a pattern for the lock screen is set, this pattern serves as the unlock method needed for decryption.

If this would be bypassable now without any other user credentials, anybody getting hold of the phone could bypass it the same way, too.
Google dropped a respective “Forgot Pattern” feature after Android 4.4, and Google Find My Device can only erase the data as far as I’m seeing.
Google currently says: “If you can’t unlock your phone, you’ll need to erase it.”

While I sympathise with the situation, I quite frankly don’t want this to have a solution visible on the internet :wink: .