ADB on FP2? [Solved: Uncheck all boxes in USB connection popup]

###Solution:

###Original Post:

I’m new to Android (development), so please bear with me and my naive questions. :smile:
I’m trying to take first steps in adb, running Ubuntu 15.10. So I installed android-tools-adb via the software centre and connected my Fairphone 2 via USB. But it seems that the phone is not recognised by adb while I see it via lsusb (but without any title; see cmd output below), I get no authorisation request on the phone either.

simon@laptop:~$ lsusb | grep 2ae5 Bus 001 Device 034: ID 2ae5:f000 simon@laptop:~$ adb devices List of devices attached simon@laptop:~$

Any hints?

Edit: Could we get a ‘dev’ category in the forum here, or maybe some separated space at code.fairphone.com would be nice?

Edit 2: As I have hit the max. posts on first day for new users limit, I have to update this:

Not sure about that:
simon@laptop:~$ sudo adb devices [sudo] Passwort für simon: List of devices attached simon@laptop:~$

Nevertheless I probably need the rule sooner or later, and go ahead to ad it. :slight_smile:

There is one:
https://forum.fairphone.com/c/software/dev

It’s read only until an admin grants you access. I’ll let them know…

Ah, I see. But if it is read only, maybe the intention is different from what I meant. Anyway, the admins will know what to do. :slight_smile:

Yeah, I guess it’s root only, not for you. There are some hints, and somewhere on the forum another similar tip was already given: (http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/UDEV)
You need some udev.rules, like
SUBSYSTEM==“usb”, ATTR{idVendor}==“fp2code”, MODE=“0664”, OWNER="your account name"
put this line in a file, e.g. /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
the fp2code you can find with lsusb. In ID xxxx:yyyy xxxx is the code you want. I’m not sure about when udevd gets the change, but the minimum will be remove the usb cable and reconnect. udevd reload or reboot…

Klaus

1 Like