Wi-Fi Calling on FP4?

Hey FP Family

American FP user here. I’ve been using the FP3 (with /e/) on the west coast for a couple years without issues. In fact, it’s been a great phone. I really love what Fairphone is all about and love supporting their mission, so I had a French friend send me the new FP4.

Unfortunately, the experience has been disappointing so far. The stock OS is way less “clean” than its predecessor and is stuck with all the invasive Google bloatware (apparently FP does not include Fairphone Open for Fairphone 4 atm). Also, there’s no /e/ option yet, though it sounds like there will be soon.

On top of that, I just discovered that my carrier doesn’t support wifi calling on the FP4 (although it did on the FP3). Unfortunately, I live in a place with little cell service, so having no wifi calling makes the phone next to useless. Does anyone know if other American carriers support wi-fi calling on the FP4? Is there anyway to find out?

Thank you

There is/was also no Fairphone Open for FP3. So I’m not clear why you expected it for the FP4…

Yes, if ungoogled OS is important for you (what I can actually understand very much) you might have waited for the Murena FP4 which is now announced for January 2022.
So probably /e/OS will also be available for your existing FP4 at roughly about the same time.

3 Likes

Maybe so. I’m no FP expert. But the FP3 I acquired (albeit from a third party) had a significantly different initial OS than FP4’s. Having a google account was optional, for example, and you could remove the various initial apps. That is not the case here.

As to your second point, I could also just wait until /e/ releases a stand alone OS build for the FP4, which I think should occur around the same time they release their FP4.

In any event, my main concern is finding a way to set up WiFi calling. Are there any carriers in Europe that support that feature on an FP4?