Secure WhatsApp in an unrooted FP3

I admit that its not really an FP3 question as its more AndroidPie related. But since I have not found anything useable on the web I think it fits well here. I do not use WhatsApp (WA) but by better half does.

I am no WA expert, but it scares me to see what premissions the device needs. You need to open all your whole device to this application. Luckily 99% of the features are not used in our case, and a few restrictions and workarounds would be fine (e.g. not address book access, not images, not audio etc). But I can not wait until a root/Recovery solution has been found.

So I am looking for a way in an unrooted FP3 to lock down data leakage to WhatsApp/Facebook as much as possible. Or phrased differently: What are my attack vectors to shrink down this tool to its basic messaging features?

Here is what I have so far.
After spending some time here and at www.kuketz-blog.de (very recommendable read but unfortunately only in German), I do have in place NetGuard and replacements for all major apps from the F-Droid store, so I could disable or block almost all Gapps and com.google.andoid.xx services. I use every permission and control feature I could find to limit access of whats app, but my feeling is that most build in functions are quite useless against WhatsApp. Imho there is not point in unsing its built-in functions :wink:
There are other blocking tools, but unfortunately they either require root or use VPN. Since Android 9 only allows one app to use the VPN I think its not possible to combine them. NetGuard does a great job and should be enhanced with Pro functions, but its not clear to me how to get the pro version without using PlayStore.