Poll: Are you willing to pay for an update to Android 5?

In another thread I suggested paid updates for future versions of Android (e.g 5) in case the involved production partners are not willing to supply updates without financial benefits: Paid update to Android 4.4 or 5? - #2 by Stefan. As suggested in this thread I am now asking the question how much you are willing to pay for an update to android 5:

• nothing
  • up to 5ā‚¬
  • up to 10ā‚¬
  • up to 20ā‚¬
  • more than 20ā‚¬

0 voters

The idea is based on the simply assumption that Fairphone has a pretty small production base and therefore an update may not be interesting for its producers. On the other hands the fairphoneā€™s user based in largely interested in a sustainable product, which also includes software sustainability.

I am an embedded software engineer. Therefore transfering my knowledge about porting Android is limited. But to give some initial number why the proposal is reasonable, I try to give a simple calculation: Assuming daily costs per engineer of 1000ā‚¬ (our company here in Germany charges less to our customers) and two engineers working two month (i.e. 4x20 days) on the port, we would end up with 80 000ā‚¬ for the port. Assuming 10 000 users willing to pay for the update, each of these users would have to pay 8ā‚¬ for the update. However, I assume my cost estimate to be to high and the price could be much lower. But even with these numbers, are update to Lollipop seems possible for a reasonable per-user price (which is all I wanted to prove). What do you think?

6 Likes

My worry is, before switching Iā€™d like to be sure all the apps I use will be compatible -which means, testingā€¦
As I said elsewhere, Iā€™m a bit sceptical. My phone works finely today, and Iā€™m rather the type ā€˜if it ainā€™t broke, no need to dare an upgradeā€™.
But yes, provided all the apps continue working, Iā€™d pay.

3 Likes