Phone Co Op SIM Reporting Constant Roaming (MVNO Issue)

I am not a techie. I got the Fairphone as it was an ethical handset. Unfortunately the Phone Coop’s provider (T Mobile) is not recognised by my handset. Fairphone have been great in offering support but it may as well be in Swahili as I just don’t get it.
The phone is (a) in constant roam mode and (b) won’t upload the latest OS (Cherry).
Is there a kind techie person somewhere in City of London (near St Pauls) who could offer help? I will provide coffee/sandwiches!
Thanks
Helen

1 Like

Sorry to say that I’m not at all close to London, but

a) Roaming: my guess is that it’s a ‘phoney’ warning. I guess that Phone Co-Op is a so-called ‘Mobile Virtual Network Operator’ using T-Mobiles network which confuses the phone. When the FP first arrived, a lot of users on different operators suffered from this. Since then, the OS has been updated so that more networks are properly recognised, but maybe there are a few odd operators left.
You can probably just disregard it. If you want to be on the safe side, not risking roaming charges, you could select your operator manually (System settings > Wireless & Networks - More > Mobile networks > Network operators > Select manually). It may be that updating to Cherry will solve it.

b) updating problem: Remember that you can only update when on wifi - not on a mobile data connection. And you may need to tap the button frantically a number of times before anything happens.

Hopefully you’ll solve it!

Hi @Helen_Highwater,

sadly i am nowhere near London but i found this article by Co-Op: http://www.thephone.coop/about-us/blog/2013/september/fairphone-finally,-we’ve-held-it-in-our-hands!/ praising the Fairphone. Please see the dicussion below the blog post which includes a FP owner who seems to have similar problems. Co-Op replies that they have several Fairphones in use by customers and staff. They provide some solutions there, please se the link above.