Modularity, ethics and Fairphones (5,4,3,2,1)

Hello UPPERCASE, I would not be posting publicly were I not seeking other’s views, fear not, I am more emotionally robust than most.

Just to get the elephant in the room out of the way: the climate changes, it always has, and always shall, but that doesn’t necessarily have much, or anything, to do with man.

Not everybody subscribes to Man Made Global Warming™.

I am here for what I need from the phone, and that is modularity. I should imagine that many more customers will arrive for that, than paying someone a “living wage”. If Fairphone want market share, and can balance the two, then I suggest they look at the breadth of the Raspberry Pi community.

Clearly Fairphone are not making as much money as they should be, otherwise the whole headphone thing would not have happened. I know there is a video, I understand. But I’ve been round the block in life.

I am not a hardware engineer, but expect the idea of modularity to go beyond the internals of the smartphone, this bringing in so many new users looking for a well priced and customisable alternative.

If I want to remove the rear cameras I can already do that, perhaps even 3D print my own case, what is the issue here ? The suggestion of expanding the external enclosures is a relatively cost effective one, and immediately opens up new markets.

Highlighting what Results45 suggested toward creating a hardware standards consortium on shared aims isn’t as expensive as some of the proposals I’ve offered, I do not see why this cannot be done on the cheap.

1 Like