GLONASS, GALILEO, DORIS, BeiDou, ... Alternative Satelite Navigation for Fairphone?

Hey,
does anybody know, if it is possible in any way to use GLONASS or GALILEO with the FP1?
From the hardware point of view I thought it is not that different - is this correct?
Is this a kind of firmware-update of Mediatek, or just the right APP?

I just crawled to the wikipedia articel about this, but couldn’t find a real anwser.
Maybe somebody can bring more light to this topic?

Cheers, Robert

P.S.: AFAIK FP2 will support at least GLONASS, as the used processor is capable of this. What about Galileo? I think a combination of all 3 will boost GPS-performance heavily…right?

I think this is about codecs and FP1 simply is not able to decode GLONASS signal. I’m not very experienced in electronics though, so I hope someone can provide a more educated answer!

Hm, no real answers yet…
In this (german) forum it is stated, that only chipsets newer than MTK MT6595 support GLONASS (and Galileo) from the technical side.
It would mean the MT6589 used in the FP1 is never able to support GLONASS/GALILEO from the technical point of view…that’s a pity missed it so closed (6589 --> 6595 which is one year newer, 4G) :frowning:

Cheers, Robert

As far as i know, Galileo is not available to the public yet.
And will most probably won’t be until your Fairphone 2 is really old.

1 Like

What’s wrong with GPS?

Nothing is wrong with GPS and I am quite satisfied with the GPS performance of my FP1, after getting used to its behaviour.

BUT: the performance (accuracy + time to first fix + stability + coverage) would be highly improved, if the chipset of the FP1 could manage GPS + GLONASS (and later Galileo) signals in parallel (as all MediaTek chipsets newer than MT6595 can do)!!
Luckily FP2 will be capable of this feature

(Whille GLONASS is already working, GALILEO will start service sometime after end of 2016, thus not that far in the future!)!!

Cheers, Robert

1 Like

Bonjour,