FP3+ turned off

Hello everyone,

My FP3+ phone suddenly turned off during the day without any apparent explanation. It won’t turn back on, when I got home from work to plug in the charger (also a “Fairphone”), nothing happened. I thought the screen might be defective but no one can call me.

I really don’t know what happened. I work in the construction sector, the phone does endure some dust, it’s true. But it didn’t fall.
I bought my phone 2 years ago.

Does anyone have a clue about which component to replace?

Thank you for reading my message and have a good day everyone!

Nicolas

1 Like

It might just be a faulty contact.
Dismantle, clean contacts with isopropanol leave to dry several hours and reassemble.

Might be a good idea to #contactsupport as well.

1 Like

2 years so you might still be under warranty?

Does the charging LED light up when you try to charge?

Else

https://forum.fairphone.com/search?context=topic&context_id=96457&q=sudden%20death&skip_context=true

This exact thing has happened to my partners FP3+ today.
He has also had problems with it not charging sometimes, but when the phone stopped today it had a full battery. I know this because I took his battery out and put it in my FP3 to see, and it was 91%.
The LED is not lighting up when I try and charge it. It seems completely dead.

1 Like

Hi,

I‘ve got the same problem since this morning, with my Fairphone 3.
Has anybody heard from support yet?
Greetings from Germany

Support is slow, expect at least a few days, else you better call them.

1 Like

@OldRoutard i’m going to try this.

@yvmuell the led is completly gone…

thank you all for your answer and your time

2 Likes

My almost 3 year old phone also turned itself off and is unresponsive today. It was on, just chilling on my couch and charging, no unusual heat. Last time I was using it the battery was around 50% charged.