FP1(U) Longevity "Experiment"

Inspired by the discussion at FP2 Should I buy it even if I have a FP1? I’m going to do an “experiment”. My goal is to use my FP1U for as long as possible. I’m not going to get a FP2 because I think the more new users Fairphone can reach with the FP2 the better. But in case many FP1(U) users do get the new Phone and there will be a surplus of second-hand Fairphones I’m interested to buy a first Generation FP to include it in my experiment.

I’m not using/going to use Google Services, instead I’m using FLoalOSS (“Free Libre or at least Open Source Software”) as much as possible.

I’m not a developer nor very tech savvy but I’ll try my best to support everybody else who is going to keep using their FP1(U).

To make this more interesting I’m betting that I will be able to use the FP1(U) for at least 2 years after FP2 release with all functions a smartphone should have intact. You can all make suggestions about what I’ll have to do if I loose the bet. If on the other hand you want to give me something if I win I’m ok with that too :wink:

16 Likes

Your first challenge:

Use the BT LE radio which is built into your FP1U to connect to anything using bluetooth low energy. Bluetooth low energy is available on iOS 5, Windows Phone 8.1, Android 4.3 and BlackBerry 10, therefore it is a function a smartphone should probably have intact.

1 Like

I don’t know exactly what Bluetooth LE is, but bluetooth works just fine on my phone and it is not so energy consuming that I would call the bluetooth function comprimised.
Of course you’ll be able to find things the fairphone can’t do and those high-end smartphones can. But I don’t want to compare the FP with the elite.

I should probably define what functions I ment that should (still) work in 2 years.

Basics:

• Phone
  • SMS
  • eMail
  • Camera
  • Music / Video Playback
  • tolerable battery runtime
  • Clock / Timer / Stopwatch / Alarm
  • Calender

Connectivity:

• Internet (mobile & wifi)