Battery charging issues & dropped calls

Hello all,

Have loved my FP3 - especially after encountering a fair few issues with my FP2 over the 4 years I had it - but sadly I have had my first 2 issues with the new phone and wondered if anyone had experienced similar issues?

1 - Battery doesn’t charge properly- I think this is to do with the bottom component but am alone in this? I have used a number of different cables to confirm it isn’t that but the phone does charge if I lean it so the cable is deep in. Anyone else had this? (I may need to replace the bottom section).

2- Phone Call drop out - This was my major issue with my FP2 and it has actually happened 3 times with the new one where I will be on a call and then the phone will restart. It has only happened with one number - which is an O2 number so I wondered if it was to do with that but I don’t know enough to know if that is possible…

Be great to know if anyone has experienced similar issues.

Thanks

Just seen that some people have had the shutdown issue too

and no fix as of yet…

Hi Peach,

not sure what you mean by “lean”.

What kind of charger and cable do you have, original Fairphone accessories or something else? Is there any dust in the USB-C plug on your cable or the phone. The FP3 Troubleshooter says

Another thing you want to check is the USB port on your Fairphone 3. Make sure it is not too dirty or full of lint

Fairphone also has a detailed guide on charging your phone at

https://support.fairphone.com/hc/en-us/articles/360032166752-Charge-your-Fairphone-3

Good luck!

2 Likes

Did you contact a fairphoneangel to test a working spare part? Are you still under warranty? In which case you should contact Fairphone support because it could be a factory defect.
But before this, you should indeed try @teezeh’s tips.

As you indeed said, there is this thread about reboots during calls.