Fairphone2 (stopped support March 2023 news) -> recommendations for swap FP3/FP4

Hey everyone!

I had my Fairphone 2 for so many years now, so the recent announcement that software support would stop in March was saddening. I am afraid I am not technical versed enough to venture over to Lineage 0S as suggested, the only way to keep using it thereafter safely…

Thus with a heavy heart, since I recently replaced camera and battery, I wondered what the community advise is:

• FP4 (the latest model, but also much more expensive than my FP2)
    or
    – FP3 (fearing that it will stop being supported sooner than FP4)…

I had my laptop for close to 10 years before swapping it out. So I am hoping to do another “cost-per-wear/use” investment into a smartphone for longer again.

Thanks for any pointers and experiences with either. Particularly I’d appreciate a prediction from Fairphone itself.

Thanks,
Cgrid

2 Likes

Hello,

you might not have noticed yet that Fairphone recently discontinued the Fairphone 3+ (the FP3 was already discontinued a while before):

You might still be able to find it at third party dealers or used though.

4 Likes

If you happen to have fairphoneangels in the vicinity (<- see angelsmap), you could ask them whether they might be able to help get you up and running with LineageOS or /e/OS.

If in Germany by chance, you could also look for something like this …

And I bet initiatives to help install alternative Android OSes are active in other countries, too.

7 Likes

My philosophy is the same: Buy something that I can keep for very long. To do this this needs to be up to date at the time of buying it so that after some time it is still decent. That makes the FP3 the wrong candidate unfortunately. The FP4 is on the market for somewhat more than a year. That’s still okay in terms of up-to-dateness, however I personally speculate on a FP5 late this year or early next year which hopefully will be a good successor for the good old FP2.