Difference /e/OS for FP3 and FP3+

Hey, I’m really new in smartphones.
I would like to change my operating system on my Fairephone 3 plus.
I can‘t find any special /e/OS version for the Fairephone 3 plus on the site Smartphone Selector. There‘s only the system for FP2 and FP3.
Does anybody know if the FP3plus works also with the same /e/OS-version like FP3?

Welcome to our Fairphone Community Forum :slight_smile:

/e/OS (Android 9) for the FP3 will work only partially on the FP3+ for now and will downgrade it from Android 10 to Android 9. It won’t support the (new) camera modules of the FP3+, other than that it’s fully functional. /e/ is working on it and eyes a late October release of /e/OS (Android 10) for the FP3 that will also support the FP3+ and its new camera modules.

So I’d suggest you give it just a few more weeks wait. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Hi urs_lesse,

now I flashed my FP3+ with the newest /e/OS (https://images.ecloud.global/dev/FP3/: ), but when I started it I couldn’t do any phone calls. The screen was frozen and after a while the phone-App crashed. Sending messages via SMS was possible. Also apps like firefox or map works. But the sound e. g. clock or VLC or other media files doesn’t work.

Then I decided to flash the FP3+ again but not with the newest version of /e/OS but the second newest version. The same problems like before. I also tested to take the sim-card in the second sim-slot. But here is the same problem. I knew that the camera isn’t able to use with /e/ on FP3+ yet. I tought it only won’t support the new camera modules, but is other than that fully funcional?

So: What can I do?
There isn’t any update or a newest version of /e/OS for the FP3+ yet, is it?

I don’t have a FP3 but the images you linked seem to be Pie-based(Android 9).
You’ll have to wait longer: probably development is taking more time then planned.

No, the FP3+ requires Android 10.
E.g. the new cameras do not work under the Android 9 versions available.