Continue with Open OS?

Honestly I have nothing against google and would love to just sync my contacts with google if possible. I installed the OS because I was getting adds on my phone, slow performance, battery live was super short and the software was buggy. But since I’m not a developer I’m now having serious doubts about going open source…

You don’t have to be a developer to enjoy FP Open OS (that’s the official name, I edited your post).
FP Open OS is the same as FP OS except:

• Open OS comes without Google Apps and Services preinstalled (but you can install them or some of them via opengapps)
  • Open OS comes with TWRP, a powerful recovery which you can use to do a full system backup - among many other great things.
  • In Open OS you can get root rights easily via Developer Settings.
  • FP Open OS and FP Open OS updates are not released at the exact same time.

Thanks for that, I’m giving it another go, just takes so much time to figure it all out :worried:

The companies make it complicated so that the normal users just accept the reality the companies prefer (You pay with your data and get a nice and easy to use phone).

The biggest “easy to sell” benefit of a phone with an OS you can control is that you can install a good and powerful Ad-blocker.

For the rest, you just have to read a bit more, that’s true. You can also still use most of the commercial software if you want to and depend on it. It all just takes a bit more time to learn, that’s true. But on the other hand, you learn more about the tools that use or have to use every day.

Good thing is … you can just ask here all the time if you have questions. :slight_smile:

1 Like