Anyone used an iZettle card reader with Fairphone?

Hi all, I hope this is in the right category! I’m an artist hoping to sell my wares at stalls and I want to purchase an iZettle card reader so that I can accept credit card payments while out and about. The card reader hooks up with your phone and then communicates with banks etc. Trouble is iZettle don’t seem to know whether I can use their reader with a Fairphone and I wondered if anyone here had experience of using the two together? Here is a list of phones that can use the card reader, if that’s any help…

Haven’t tried it, but I would be surprised if it didn’t work, considering the following info from iZettles website:

“Please note that the Chip & PIN reader should work with most Android smartphones and tablets which have Bluetooth and an Internet connection, and where the iZettle app can be downloaded.”

The FP fulfils these conditions.

However, the site also says that “It is not allowed to use iZettle on a device which has been jailbroken or rooted” - and the FP is rooted by default.

“Not allowed” is of course not the same thing as “Doesn’t work”. But maybe this could put you in some kind of legal trouble.

1 Like

Important question to ask as well is which version of Android they require? For instance, Bluetooth LE is only supported from Android 4.3 upwards. While I don’t expect a device like this to use Bluetooth LE, it’s certainly possible.

edit:
oh I see there’s Android 4.0 phones listed on their supported phones page, so the Android version shouldn’t be a problem here and it’s immediately obvious the device doesn’t use Bluetooth LE.

Don’t think this should be a problem. iZettle’s own list of supported phones includes devices running Android 4.2 (as the FP), 4.1, and even 2.3

thanks all - I hadn’t realised that the Fairphone is rooted by default! iZettle have been a bit useless TBH and I might try another provider.