Any news about sailfish (or other ways of getting rid of google) for FP2?

Hi there,

I have now received my FP2, and spent hours on my computer to search for possibilities to avoid using Google. As far as I understood, Sailfish is on its way to be available for FP2, but the latest news I found was from Oct.2015. Any updates for this, by now?

And what about cynogenmod? Though I just read, that it got “married” to Google, too, to some extend, by now.

What about replicant? Any options for the FP2? And, most important for myself, where can I find support for this?
Any other options?

I am not a software professional, and I find it a bit disappointing, tat only the pros are able to be real owners of their data, all the normal people have no real choices.

Thanks for any further input,

effo

Sailfish OS is being actively worked on for the Fairphone 2, and the current port status is looking rather promising at this point.

I’ll ask the guys about packaging up an image, even if its just an alpha or otherwise incomplete.

EDIT: Seems like they’re planning something for FOSDEM in brussels in a few weeks, so stay tuned!

https://fosdem.org/2016/schedule/event/fairphone2/

2 Likes

You can (try to) build the Fairphone Open Source OS yourself, it does not contain any google apps or services. Or you can wait until Fairphone releases such build, which will still take a while (I was told by customer support that they plan to release it in the first quarter of 2016).

1 Like

Here is some update from the Jolla community:

Seems like the port is going well.
The problem I currently see with the Jolla port is the amount of available apps because as far as I know it will not include the possibility to run Android apps.

Too bad everything has to be an event these days. :frowning: I remember that I was not able to find anything about the last talk regarding this subject. I hope this time it will end up here as well.