A tool to extract a phone app from an old phone?

I need to get one single app from my old (still working) phone.
No configuration, no files, nothing, just that one .apk file.

What do you people suggest I use?

A few years ago I would had used MyPhoneExplorer, but now I’m on Linux and I doubt it works on Wine. Is there a way to get to that .apk nevertheless, so I can install it on my FP4?

(Warning: As I said elsewhere, I’m somewhat computer-savvy, but a complete noob on all things Android.)

Well what app is that ?

Have you search the web ? There are dozens of guides ~ ideas

Are you familiar with adb (Android Development Bridge) ?

No, I did search this forum though, and found a couple suggestions, some pointing to dead links, but none which apparently applied to me. I don’t want to backup my phone, just get hold of a specific application.

I’ve heard of it… (Not always good things though…)
The page you linked seems comprehensible enough, I bookmarked it and will try it. Thanks!

OK

• First enable Developers mode (acheived believe it or not by tapping 10 times on the Build number via Settings > About phone last entry
  • You should now have Developer options under Settings > System > Advanced
  • Then enable USB debugging (Developer options > First one in second section)
  • Install the ADB on a PC
  • A run through how I installed ADB on a Rasberry Pi

That’s already done. Needed it to be able to copy stuff to my SD card using USB.

I have downloaded it (or at least I think I have - Got a thing named “platform-tools_r33.0.3-linux.zip”), but I didn’t try to install it yet, busy with real work for a change. :sweat:
Will try it when I have a couple hours to lose wondering what went wrong… :grin:

Hm, that sounds different from the link you gave me above. That guy ran “adb devices” and the daemon started all on its own at tcp:5037. I presume both work and the port is unimportant as long as it is above 5000?