Will the Fairphone 2 connect with Ubuntu PC?

Hey everyone. I’m quite new to Linux and also not techy enough to answer this question myself. Also I don’t want to bother Fairphone team with questions that are not too important to me, so I thought this might be a good question to ask in the forum.

I’m using Ubuntu and I’m totally loving how quick and easy I’m able to access my Galaxy S3 mini’s storage without having to install further drivers or anything (On Windows I had to reinstall drivers every time I flashed CM or wiped the phone). But Linux’s problem is usually that it takes a while until newer devices like graphics cards, cameras or whatever are made compatible to Linux computers. What does this compatibility depend on? Is there a way to tell whether my FP 2 will work without hesitation when I connect it to a Ubuntu machine?

1 Like

Hi. Right now I define “connect” in your case as browsing its SD card, not as talking to android? So “normally” just talking to the SD storage should work although “USB mass storage” access on Android >4.0(?) was changed so it now uses MTP /PTP. So yes, it should work.

So for me this compatibility depends on the MTP implementation and the usb system. The mtp-tools will help you finding the problem if it does not work out of the box, but normally it should “just work”.

I don’t have the right cables with me, else I could tell you how that would look right now.

WP: MTP on linux

1 Like

And in case, you wanted to use ADB, something similar tot he following should work:

https://blog.diebin.at/1508/3-fairphone-ubuntu-12-04-lts

:slight_smile: (Being happy that I found this link again…)

1 Like

Thanks, @fp1_wo_sw_updates & @Stefan.