WiFI calling on Virgin UK FP4

Hi have just set up a FP4 ,chose it because Virgin UK support WIFi calling and I have no mobile reception at home - so phone useless to me otherwise. The WiFi calling on the dropdown at top of screen remains greyed out. If I go somewhere with reception I can make calls, but WIFI calling still remains greyed out. Also the contacts on my SIM are not recognised, only the ones I transferred using Google Play account.
Virgin say it is a problem for Fairphone, and Fairphone support say I to ask BT shopthat I bought it from.
I’m not a tech expert - this all seems unecessarily rubbish when I have paid £550 for something that ought to work
Anyone on here able to help me?
T

Hi and welcome.

Where in the UK are you ?

I’m in a similar situation regarding no mobile, and use EE.

I had to find somewhere to pick up EE so the network could enable the Wi-Fi calling so maybe you have the same issue. It has to be initiated on the phone via the network and can’t be done by Wi-Fi calling alone.

One it is initiated check Settings > Network and internet > Your Carrier > or Search for Wi-Fi Calling and ensure it is enabled on the phone.

Hi thanks - I’m in Wales. I have to walk half a mile from the house to get mobile reception. My previous Samsung galaxy A40 did wifi calling wth no hassle.
I saw your previous post about this and went out and got reception and tried to set up as described.
WiFi calling stayed greyed out and I couldn’t find any way to do it via networkand Internet - it just doesn’t exist.

Have you checked your APN settings?

Virgin says to text ALL to 78992 to get APN settings Set up WiFi and 4G Calling | Virgin Media Help

Also is your Fairphone up to date?

3 Likes

Hi Chris,
thanks for your help - I don’t know what APN settings are? But I can try that via the link you include. Currently trying to download an Android update on the phone, but 6 hrs later it is still downloading! Maybe that will help.