What privacy features does FairPhone offer that other Android devices don't?

I am new to FairPhone, thinking about buying.

I search for privacy and FairPhone and found only “Privacy Impact feature”. What privacy features do you offer that for example Samsung doesn’t offer?

Have a look here. Search for “Privacy Impact”

Else:

They offer a rom that does not contain the google services. That’s a big one. But it depends how you define privacy and safety. Sometimes it not the same. You need to have a goal. Sometimes this goal will make your phone less useful.

You want privacy? Don’t use a phone.
You want some privacy? Use a phone without Google.
You want a bit more privacy? Root your phone. Add more software. This can also make the phone less secure …
You want a safe phone? Use a phone that comes with the latest software updates every month. Don’t root it, don’t install extra software.

3 Likes

Which is the Fairphone 2. Or a Nexus.

2 Likes

Or Apple :zipper_mouth: But hey, were are talking more about privacy here, so. The FP2 without Google still looks good privacy-wise. Just omit the whole Qualcomm part. :slight_smile:

If you want to go deeper, Qualcomm brings their only little tracking package to enhance GPS (I forget the name), some other stuff that is in the bin blobs and their infamous baseband. But this is pretty normal for common SoCs phones these days. The FP2 is just mainstream in regards to the SoC using another brand will not fix this.

2 Likes

Qualcomm IZAT. I’m quoting @larma here:

And again, vendor blobs, drivers and applications are increasing their influence. For example the Fairphone 2 ships a proprietary Qualcomm app that send gps location, nearby cell-towers, wi-fi-networks and bluetooth-devices together with some identifier to Qualcomm servers. According to the license agreement they “are also not allowed to remove portions of the Software”, basically meaning that you’re forced to be tracked. (Source)