USB connection isnt working

My dear community,

today I tried to connect my not rooted FP running FP OS via USB to my computer running Windows 7 and it wasnt quite successful. The device is only shown in the system properties at “devices and printers” in the category “not specialized”

I assume that theres something wrong with the USB driver because it isnt shown in the device manager. Just my previously installed adb drivers from the former FP2 (under “Google Nexus” because I think they were the Google drivers)

To let u know what I originally wanted to do: I wanted to make a full backup via TWRP which I wanted to install via adb but adb deamon always told me “device not found”. After the backup I wanted to try /e/ OS.
So, Im pretty exhausted now after searching hours for a solution in various forums etc. Maybe on of u has an idea what the problem is? If u need to know more Im happy to give u more information, just remember: Im no techie :smiley:

When you have connected your phone to the computer with the cable, take your phone and swipe down.
Then you will see a message that your phone is charging.
Tab on that message and choose for ‘file transfer’.

Are you following Fairphone 3 ?
That would only use ADB to reboot the phone into Fastboot Mode (aka bootloader). You can do the same thing without ADB by simply rebooting or starting the phone while keeping Volume - pressed.

Keep in mind that the adb command only works when Android or a recovery like TWRP are booted, the adb command doesn’t work with the phone in Fastboot Mode.
The fastboot command will work with the phone in Fastboot Mode.

2 Likes

Sorry, forget to mention that file transfer is on standard when connecting my FP3 via USB