Setting up FP2 without a Google account?

Hi all.
I am new with my first Fairphone, a FP2.
I have charged it and started it up, guess what?
It is asking me for my Google account otherwise I can’t install app’s.
Is this serious? Do I have to make a Google account to change the world?
Please tell me I am wrong. What am I missing?

The most obvious option for you is to install Fairphone Open OS, Fairphone’s Google-free OS:

https://code.fairphone.com/projects/fp-osos/user/fairphone-open-source-os-installation-instructions.html

3 Likes

Thank you for your quick response!

If you don’t want to create a Google account, you have to install the APKs manually (from the site of the developer or apkmirror.com) or use an alternative app store (like F-Droid or Amazon).

3 Likes

Welcome to the world of hazzles:

My Dutch is not too well but it seems you don’t have enough rights to execute the file.

I’m not familiar with MacOS, but I guess there must be some way to “run [the file] as administrator”.

This is exactly why the EU is suing Google, and I hope they keep jabbing them all the way into freeing the Android platform, as it was originally intended to be.

3 Likes

Your Dutch is excellent :grinning:
Funny fact is that I am logged in as admin. Anyway this goes of topic.
I will check for a workaround before bothering you all.

However it has created a new challenge: after the required fast booting to install FF OPEN (using Vol- with on/off) the screen shows FAIRPHONE and I can’t switch the device off anymore with the on/off button… Any help here?

You probably need to make the file executable. In a Terminal type

chmod +x filename

Where filename is the path and name of the file you’re executing.

3 Likes

IIRC in fastboot mode you have to press and hold the poweroff button for either 5s or 10s. And maybe it will just reboot instead of powering the device off, I forgot.

1 Like