Refurbished phone does not read sd card

After a replacement under warranty with a refurbished FP2, I inserted my sd card with all my back ups in the slot but the new phone wouldn’t read it and say I need to format it which would in turn override all the data on it. I tried to transfer the data from the sd card to several computers (one mac OS, one ubuntu, one windows) and none of them recognised it. Mac OS says it’s unreadable, ubuntu and windows don’t even acknowledge it. I have all my photos, contacts, etc., from my previous phone on it, does anyone have an idea about how to proceed?

Many thanks in advance.

Did you encrypt your SD card before you sent your prior phone back?

Hi Gerry, thank you for replying.

I have no idea, honestly. If that’s the case am I screwed? And how can I see if I did or not?

If I were you, I would have the same questions, because I am no Android expert. :worried:

I desperately hope someone can help you out.

2 Likes

The data is likely to be encrypted if you formatted the card as adoptable storage in Android 6. If you kept it as portable storage, then this shouldn’t be the case. If it’s not encrypted, you could look at data recovery options for SD cards - I haven’t done this in a long while, so I currently don’t have any recommendations.

P.S: One tip: If you’re running some form of linux/unix, I’d suggest making a copy of the block device and trying different recovery options on copies of that copy rather than on the device directly.

1 Like

Hi Johannes, thanks for your reply.

I am not very good with tech things, so I only partially understood your post. I am very new to linux too, I just installed ubuntu on an old laptop to give it a try but I still have to understand properly how it works. What do you mean making a copy of the block device?

And also, if the sd card is encrypted (which is likely, now that you mention it I remember something like that when I upgraded from Android 5 to 6), is there anything I can do?