Re-install google play

Hi guys,

I’m afraid I am an absolute beginner when it comes to smart phones. A few months ago I’ve deliberately disabled Big Brother Google, but now I’d like to reactivate it.

I can find the Google Play Icon in the App menue under Settings, but I cannot move it to the main app screen.

Reading a previous thread slightly worries me (“humorkritik - Aug 24 - I ended up wiping the phone”)

Any ideas? And, should I have to wipe the phone, how do I save my contacts, which are currently on the phone, not the SIM card. Is there a copy function?

Thank you for your help!

Christian O, Brighton UK

You should find the “google apps installer” in the list with widgets.
In 1.8 press the menu key (bottom left of the 3 “hardware” keys), in 1.6 open apps (the six dot symbol in the quick access swipe menu) and go to the widgets tab.
Drag that one to a free spot on one of your home screens, and click it.
Full instructions can be found here.
That should do it!

2 Likes

Hi,

what exactly have you done to disable Google?

regards,
Shiny

Even if you don’t have to wipe your phone, you should think about a backup-to-SD solution.
I use TitaniumBackup, as you might have read in other threads. I got it from Google’s PlayStore, but just searched for an .apk and found some somewhere elese. However, I would quite probably not install it from websites I don’t trust.

I’d be really interested how you ‘disabled’ the Google apps without going back to factory settings… Google apps embed themselves quite deeply into Android. You can get rid of them, but it needs quite some effort and causes some pain, surely.

Thank you everyone! But I’m afraid so far your replies haven’t really helped.