Led doesn't blink on FP5. Setting error or physical problem?

hello everyone, i recently bought a FP5 but i noticed that the notification leds are no longer blinking, i would like to understand if i have made some setting error or there is some other kind of problem. For me the blinking of the led is important and I thank anyone who can help me.

1 Like

Welcome to the Fairphone community.

Starting with the FP4, no Fairphone has notification LEDs anymore. So they can’t flash on the FP5 at all :wink: . But you can use the Always On Display (AoD) instead.

3 Likes

Thank you Incanus, after 17 years of BlackBerry i landed in the FP world, so i’m still a beginner. It was so usefull for me to set different led colors for each app.

1 Like

Welcome in the modern times, for me a simple LED is so 1990s :wink:

1 Like

While Incanus’ suggestion of using AoD instead is exactly what is designed to substitute/succeed LED notifications, you might want to have an eye on battery consumption if you choose to use AoD. For the time being, AoD seems to not be as energy-efficient on the FP5 yet as intended, see FP5 doesnt seem to turn OLED pixels off when displaying a black image/video and when using the "Always on Display" feature

8 Likes

I’m pretty sure that LED is modern solutions, in any field ;).

I agree with @gdl , LED notification is super usefull, I miss it on my FP5 !

4 Likes

@MrOreo didn’t you mention an app last week that creates quasi-LED notifications on your FP5 without draining the battery?

A single LED? I doubt.
I prefer a display that can show me a message in clear text, instead a simple LED which only shows me: “There is something, please grab me and check.”

Yes, @urs_lesse and @PerfectJam, that’s right. I actually got this advice from another thread on this forum. I also do miss the notification LED quite a lot, but the “LED Blinker” app does the job quite well for me:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ledblinker