I've lost everything on the main screen (widget gone)

Hi I’m a total newbie and not good with technology - I bought a fairphone last week - its the first smartphone I’ve ever used. My wife set it up and downloaded simple stuff that I would need but today as I was trying to do something I seem to have accidentally removed everything on the main screen. How do I get it back? How can I add apps & messaging / camera etc back to the main screen? Please help as I very frustrated! thanks

Press on the right or left edge of screen so that the QuickAccess menu (circle with six dots) appears and tap the circle with six dots to access all apps/widgets.
Now search for the app you want.
Tap and hold your finger on the app.
Move a little with the app, don’t release your finger.
By itself your homescreen wil appear.
Put the app at a place on the homescreen you want it to be.
Now you can release your finger from the app.

thank you Lidwien, but I should have been clearer. The quickaccessmenu is what has disappeared - I think by mistake I had removed it and now I can’t get it back again. Is there anything I can do?

It seems you installed a Launcher different than the default Fairphone Launcher, are you able to open the Play Store and search if you installed a launcher? If so you should also be able to remove it to come back to the standard one :smile:

Please try this first: turn off your phone and then restart.

Other solution, swipe on your home with two fingers to the right. On the next screen or the one after that will show you the ’ “your app” widget, showing last used/most used apps’.

1 Like

It works!!! Thank you Lidwien - the quick access menu was hiding at the end of the screen… though I still don’t know how to restore it! But at least I can use the phone :smile:
thanks for your help

In a few days you will get a notification to update to 1.8.5.
After the update you’re screen will show the the quick access menu again.
If not, let me know.