iPhone vs Nexus vs FP2

Hello. I am a non tech person and if I buy FP2 it will be my first smartphone. I have a Windows laptop. Will FP2 do what I want it to do?

• link with laptop easily
  • read my gmail & check my google calendar
  • take photos and be able to store them/synch them on latop easily.

Friends and family say I should buy an iphone/mac as the combo is user friendly. I ike the idea of a Google Nexus phone as I use gmail and google calendar so heavily. As I have a windows laptop it might be sensible to but a Windows phone. I want to support FP’s durable and ethical stance but I want the phone to be easy to use and work smoothly with my windows laptop. So I have analysis paralysis. Any tips or experiences from othe novices? thank you

Yes that should not a problem for the Fairphone.

That depends. Apple is surely ‘user-friendly’ in the sense that they provide systems that are as easy as possible to wok with for the average user.
Problem is: The average user doesn’t exist. Everybody is different and if you want to personalize your device to match your personal needs, wants and likes Apple is very user-unfriendly.

Android is maybe a little less user friendly in the first sense but much more in the second.
(I totally left out user-friendly in the sense of not spying on and exploiting the user’s personal data.)

Fairphone 2 comes with Google Apps & Services preinstalled and since Windows and Google are compatible you’ll have no problems with that.

I believe you’ll be happy with the Fairphone and if you’re not, you can simply try it and send it back without a reason within the first 1 or 2 weeks (I’m not sure atm). Also there are many first time Smartphone users in the Fairphone community, so you’ll be assisted with anything you’ll need here on the Forum or by Support.

3 Likes

To add to paulakreuzer:[quote=“MJD_nov, post:1, topic:11822”]