How to fight FP2 disassembly fear?

The following is both an observation of mine as well as my request for feedback from other Fairphoners who frequently volunteer to help FP2 owners troubleshoot hardware issues. Together with four other Fairphoners, I’m an admin to a (German language) Fairphoners Facebook group which mainly deals with helping folks with their FP1 and FP2 issues. Quite a couple of times, I have suggested to Fairphoners to simply disassemble their FP2 into its modules (see also section 3.2 in the forum troubleshooting guide), clean (dry) the contacts and reassemble everything back. It does not hurt and if it doesn’t help the original issue, people can still contact Fairphone Support and potentially request a replacement module (or get better advice ;))

When it comes to FP2 disassembly, I have come to two conclusions:

• It helps. I have had people complaing about reboots, speaker, microphone, camera issues – quite a couple of times disassembling rectified the issue. It didn’t take a replacement module.

• Fairphoners resent it. People will offen rather keep complaining and looking for a magic button solution than admit they are wary to open and disassemble their FP2.

Now what I would like to know from you is if you have made the same experience – with regard to both aspects. I also briefly went through the official support articles and found that Fairphone Support rarely suggests disassembly other than with regard to the display. Maybe I’m encouraging FP2 disassembly too lightly?

Of course, I have one or two vague ideas as to how disassembly fear could be tackled, but I thought I shouldn’t prematurely generalize from my own observations and ask for your impressions first.

7 Likes