Hotspot doesn't work

Hi everybody,
this is my first time on this forum. I’m Daniele from Italy.
I’ve someproblems with the hotspot WiFi. I’m reasonably sure that the problem is in my FP2 settings. In fact, if I put the SIM in another smartphone, it works with no problem at all.
This is the symptom: I turn on the hotspot, then connect the device (computer, tablet, other smartphones…). The device sees the hotspot and on the FP2 I can read “1 device connected”. But it doesn’t work.
Is there anybody that have some suggestion? Many thanks!

Is your phone connected to mobile data while you turn on the hotspot? Does internet work on the phone at that time?

The FP2 is not able to connect to two wifi networks as the same time, you cannot use its hotspot to boost the range of your wifi. You can use the hotspot together with mobile data.

4 Likes

Thanks for your help, Albert. I confirm: my FP2 is connected with mobile data. I even switch off the WiFi connection, to be sure. Thanks again.

isn’t too specific. The devices say they are connected to your phone but you cannot access the internet from them, is that correct? Which OS is your phone running? Standard Fairphone OS or anything else? Is there any firewall or virus scanner software installed? If you connect a computer to the phone’s hotspot, can the computer ping the phone’s IP address? For instance on Windows open the commandline window, type
ipconfig
and search the Default Gateway of your WiFi adapter. Take the IP address and type
ping [IP address]
where [ip address] of course has to be replaced by the Gateway’s address.
If that is successful you know that the IP connection to your phone is up and running. Then you can do the next step: Ping an IP address on the internet, e.g.
ping 84.22.101.48