Fairphone 3 getting very slow and unusable after the third year

Hello!

I am Giulio, fierce advocate of Fairphone since I started using one, 3 years ago, a Fairphone 3. I still am, but I would like to ask to the community help with the following issue (surely it’s an easy one, just I am not technical and I didnt find any answer n the forum - probably didnt look enough):

I had almost zero problems in these 3 years, a year ago I changed the bottom piece where the charger goes because it was not chargin well all the times, in general some annoyance with bluetooth connection, but nothing so bad.

In the last month though, the phone is getting significantly slower, to the point of becoming a significant annoyance. Sometimes it turns off abruptly, and then I have to restart it not once but twice, because the first time it doesn’t read the simcard. It’s not a lack of memory in the device, there are like 20 gigabytes left yet. Also, many apps don’t work sooo well, some micro tasks requires a lot of seconds where a generic not-fairphone takes 1 or 2 secs

What’s the problem? Is it the battery, and I should replace that? Or something else

Thanks in advance to those who’ll help!

Giulio

2 Likes

I would say Bluetooth is, generally, and not Fairphone specific, troublesome from time to time. It is just what it is.

The bottom module is a weak point on the Fairphone 3. It will not make your phone slow though in all probability, just fail to charge/make USB connections.

If you power off the phone, remove the back and then the battery, take a look at it, is it swollen? If it isn’t, and you don’t have issues with the battery in terms of charging and lasting a reasonable duration, then your battery is probably fine. You can use apps like Accu battery to monitor charge and estimate capacity and see how well it is doing.

None of the above would seem to have anything to do with the issues you report of the phone being slow as far as I can see.