E-mail outbox failure

I’m new to smart phones, and Android, so bear with me
I’ve set up most of what I need on my new fairphone, but, I can’t send e-mails
I can write them, but they sit in the outobox folder and don’t get sent
What am I doing wrong?

Is your wifi working or did you set up your network on your simcard?

I can receive e-mails, I can browse, so, yes, Wi-Fi is working?

What are your ‘Outgoing settings’?

Not sure what you mean? I’ve set up the settings as I use them for Outlook on my desktop PC, to access my mail server. If I’d got that wrong I’d expect an error message?

Hi @fandibben,

first of all: There are some Mail-Apps out there, which of them do you use?

What kind of setup method did you use? Manual or automatic? Did you do a check for the server settings during setup?

Greetings

Tom

I’m using the mail app that comes with the phone. Manual set up as I had to edit the name of my mail server as it guessed it wrong.
I expect I’ve set something wrong - are there any manuals available, I’m used to working through such things to solve issues.
So I composed a mail, ‘sent’ it, it ends up in the outbox folder, but the sent folder remains empty. The mail app is working as I successfully receive mail.
Thanks for your attention.

Ok, then go to your app drawer and choose Settings -> Scroll down to Accounts -> Choose your E-Mail-Account -> Click on Account Settings -> Click on your mail address -> Scroll down to Server Settings -> Click on Outgoing Messages -> Check all the settings on this page:

• Server name correct?
  • Port correct?
  • Type of security correct?
  • Checkbox checked?
  • Credentials correct?

If all these settings are correct your mail app should work.

Greetings

Tom

The SMTP server is correct (same as I use on desktop PC)
The port is 25, how do I know if that is correct? It is the same as my desktop, but is that relevant
security type is none, same as desktop set up