"drivers often come in the form of binary blobs"

This is a quote from the Fairphone web site:

drivers often come in the form of binary blobs

What does this mean?

Does this mean, that Linux is the only operating system one can run on the Fairphone?

The background for my question is: I am searching for a hardware, which can be used to write an operating system from scratch similar to this tutorial. Would this be possible on the Fairphone hardware? Or are there parts of the hardware, which are not documented well enough to write a driver from scratch?

I’m not a developer, but from what I learned here on the Forum, it’s close to impossible to write your own drivers for all the integrated hardware of the phone, i.e. the processor, camera, speakers, microfones, all the sensors, the usb interface, wifi…
As a matter of fact, since qualcomm probably won’t supply any new drivers for the FP2 hardware, there might not be any updates further than android 6, because noone but the vendor of the chipset can sensibly devleop the proper drivers.
it would be an entirely different story, if the drivers were open source and one could tinker with the code. this is not the case however and the drivers are closed and are being supplied to fairphone as binaries, i.e. compiled form, that can not be turned back into sourcecode and can not be modified anymore. There are some efforts to provide alternative operating systems for the FP2 and you can read on it here in the Forums, but developing yout own OS would certainly be a very big effort…

And all alternative operating systems also depend on these closed drivers/firmware.

It is pretty much impossible to write such drivers/firmware on your own. If you want a phone very close to real open hardware, you would need to get a Neo900 (if this ever gets ready), and even their hardware is not entirely open. Some introduction here: