Does the Fairphone 2 improve the user experience, regarding GPS, remote control headphones and camera quality?

I love my fairphone (1st Ed.), but there are a number of things that I would like to be improved, and I cannot read them from the specs:

What I like about FP1:

• the fairness concept
  • the dual sim
  • the replaceable battery
  • the solid construction

What I dislike:
1/ very poor GPS : it does not work if you do not turn on WIFI or mobile network support (at least it doesn’t if you travel far, it cannot get your initial position).
2/ Poor Sound: I did not find any decent headphones with remote control: with my apple or Sennheiser headphones (with remote), I hear a distinct tic tic tic sound which is very annoying.
3/ camera quality: the color rendering is the one of a 10 years old digital camera. this could be improved by a firmware update, but these kind of optimisation need to be sensor-lens specific (I used to be a colour scientist). There has been quite some discussion on the forum about this topic, but when I look at the posted picture, they still look to me coming from an old camera.

So my question is: will the FP2 have

• good gps, which works standalone
  • headphones with remote, where you could control the sound volume, stop and go and forward backward skip (like on the iphone). or at least a list of recommended headphone which have this functionality
  • better colours on the camera ?
1 Like

This doesn’t answer your questions concerning the next Fairphone, but:

I know that ‘tic tic tic’ noise you’re talking about. For me, the Xiaomi Piston 3 were the solution.
They’re usually shipped directly from China. Many people on the internet consider them a bargain, but apparently one has to make sure to buy from a legitimate seller as there have been reports of fakes.
Three-button remote control works fine for me with the music player I use (it offers options to assign actions to each button). Mic works too.

Cheers