Can we, as a community, make a comparison between an iPhone and a Fairphone considering durability?

Is it useful if we, as a community, would compare some iPhone models and some Fairphone models at how long they will last?
I would consider phones that have been released in the same year.
I would also assume that the person using it is a person who cares for his er her phone.

I have heard stories about iPhones lasting well over 5 years. Fairphone promises that her phones do that.
Unless Fairphone thinks it’s not a direct competitor to the iPhone, I think it’s interesting to dig into.

Personally, I have been using iPhones as my smartphones since 2013 and it feels like a big step to change to Fairphone and I’m guessing I’m not the only one.

How many years has your smartphone ever lasted?
(Sounds like a good sound bite BTW: ‘Fairphone Everlasting’

1 Like

Hello. I am an iPhone user since 2016 November when I received a 7+ for work. I am still using and stressing it, because I make a one hour video every week. I updated every iOS from 10 up to 15. 15 will be the end, because 16 is not made for the 7. But apple will continue security updates. The battery is still fine.
In march 2021 I had to buy a phone for personal use and I choose the fairphone 3+. I now use both phones in parallel. The good thing is that on fairphone I can decide which os I want. I installed /e/os and go well with it.
I am curious how will the fairphone work after 6 years … And how long my iPhone 7 will last

4 Likes

You will see the difference, when at some point the phone (iPhone, FP) needs to be repaired.
The cost for an iPhone repair might well be higher than the cost for a new one (same type).

… and they won’t sell the same type anymore against that time.

Well, the question is: what’s your criteria for “they will last”…

If the criterion is “software support” then it’s nearly impossible to say.