Browser app constantly active and online?

I am new to fp and the whole smartphone world, since I have only recently decided that the fp might allow me to replace my outdated palm and act as a decent phone at the same time. So, please forgive my ignorance in these matters of Android operating systems etc.
I basically need a mobile phone and a mobile mini computer for contacts and for my calendar. I might access the internet via my home wireless network, but I don’t even have an internet plan with my sim card. Add to this my mistrust of google, I intend to run a very basic fp.
However I wonder what all these pre-installed apps do “when I’m not looking”. For instance, it seems like the pre-installed browser goes online without my opening it - drawing data through my phone provider - even though I don’t need it and don’t want it. (I have installed Firefox instead.)
Is this normal, and how can I avoid it? Can I deinstall the Browser and other pre-installed apps?

Hi lud,

Your default (pre-installed) browser behaves oddly. It should not launch on its own, and it should definitely not go online on its own. Mine doesn’t. I suggest that you
a) launch it and go through the settings and see if anything there can explain the behaviour.
b) go to ‘Manage apps’, find the Browser app and empty cache and data.

At worst, it might be that some other app acts as a trigger. If so, it might be difficult to find it.

Since FP is rooted, everything can be deleted f you use a file manager that makes use of root privilegies. But it might have unforeseen consequences, so it can’t be recommended. As it is, the pre-installed browser looks as if it’s an integrated part of the system, so it cannot be uninstalled, nor can it be disabled (which surprised me).

@lud, what makes you think the browser goes online and downloads data? Can you tell us the symptoms that make you draw this conclusion?

Hi @lud