Attempt to restore backup via TWRP - Result is "Cannot restore System -- mounted read only"

Hello to the great FP community,

Be kind this is my first post and I’m just an apprentice in smartphone operations ! :wink:

I would like to restore via TWRP a back up I made. via TWRP. Unfortunately I encoutered a ridiculous difficulty I’m not able to solve, and I’ve not seen any comments on this situation : when trying to restore it says “Cannot restore System – mounted read only”.

I don’t know how to allow the writing mode. Someone does ?

Here are some clues to help the diagnostic :
First, I flashed the TWRP image onto my FP2 thanks to the fastboot command from my PC.
This wiki explained a status descripting my situation in section 6.b.

Indeed after flashing, I fall everytime in the Android recovery module instead of TWRP module.
I will observe later that contrary to what the wiki says, which is “After this, TWRP should be flashed permamantly.”, this is not permanent. Each time I want to open the recovery module I need to use the fastboot command “fastboot reboot” (from my PC) with volume up (on my FP).
So I followed the instruction of the wiki and finally accessed the TWRP module.
There I’ve been asked if I prefer the “read only” mode.
I confirmed because for the moment I just wanted to make a back up.
I could use the “backup” fonctionnality, create the backup, and make fried eggs meanwhile on my FP thanks to the heat made.
Then with pain I could retrieve the TWRP module, enter this time in the “restore” fonctionnality, swipe to restore, and there I’m blocked.

I thank you by advance for you help.
Sending my best regards

1 Like

I’m not sure because I never ticked that read-only option. But when you’re in TWRP there is a “Mount” item, maybe you can enable read-write there?

It might be the case that you did not immediately boot into TWRP after flashing (i.e. normal boot into the system). In that case TWRP gets overwritten.