FP1 prone to humidity?

Hi everyone,

I have been using my FP1 for over two years now. I used the dual SIM option many times so far and it has always worked out perfectly. I also checked this feature after the upgrade to Koala Nut. I am also using the dual sim option on a business trip in SouthEastAsia for data roaming purposes right now. I had all sensors and functionality activated as I had to navigate and I did not care about power consumption at that point, means WiFi, Roaming, GPS, …is switched on.

After two days some troubles began, as the area around the SIM card slot #2 got very hot. The display hangs and I cannot enter my unlock pattern. Sometimes the touch screen was reacting, sometimes it just hang. I decided to let it be and try it the next day. After having it fully loaded I could access it once in the morning, but since then I tried rebooting it several times trying all combinations of inserted cards: no cards, just SD, one SIM, two SIMs…none of them worked so I assume the behavior is purely processor or display related.

Did anybody encounter such an issue before? I want to fix it by trying all software related workarounds. How can I access the phone without using the touchscreen at all to switch off sensors, clear cache and check system current consumption?

all the best,
Bernd

Hi Bernd

I had a similar problem with a normal working SIM card that I changed to a other mobile phone (that was more robust for a sahara travel) and the SIM card was becoming hot in the “new” phine.
The support from my telecom provider explained to me, that a lot of SIM cards have small errors, and some phones compensate some of theses errors, and some phones were blocked from these errors.
The only way to resolve this problem was to change the SIM card

Best regards
Bobby

1 Like

Hi Bobby,