New Battery or not?

Hi Fairphone Community.

I’m an early user of the FP2. I’ve been using it since Jan 2016. I’ve experienced much early bugs, the frequent updates and I would like to share my opinion about the FP2, on one point in particular.

Now, thanks to the many updates (and a new top module few months ago, a new bottom module few weeks ago), I don’t have to deal with any particular problem, except for the battery. I’ve been communicated with the FP team about some bugs, I know that the battery is a real issue on the FP. But I have to say that it is quite inconvenient not to be able to use the phone during one day without having to find power (I’ve never experienced such a thing with my previous phones).

I’ve ran much tests recently, using the AccuBattery app on my FP (that have been reseted first). I’ve noticed much things during these tests, in particular :

• my FP lasts 3H in continuus video on YouTube (Wifi ON)
  • it consumes 3%/h of the battery when screen is OFF (Wifi and data ON) (which I think is pretty good)
  • it consumes 20-25%/h of the battery when the screen is ON (Wifi and data ON) (which I think is awful :-))
  • the battery capacity seems to have dropped to 1600-1700mAh (after one year and a half)

I would like to ask to the community if everybody has noticed such a drop of the battery capacity? Since the beginning of the FP2 experience, I think that the battery has not been correctly chosen and that’s very disappointing. And I don’t understand why the first hardware update has not been about the battery… :expressionless:
Now I ask myself if I should change the battery, or if I should wait for an hypothetic battery update?

Have a nice day everyone!

2 Likes

My humble guess is that the next hardware upgrade will be the bottom module, because that’s the weakest point together with the (old) display and after the old cover.