Fingerprint sensor for the FP2 feasible?

I’ve recently had a similar thought. However after looking into it, I’m not sure whether this is feasible anymore.

[Android Compatability Definition (pdf, p 48)][1] lists a requirement which might be hard to meet with an aftermarket fingerprint sensor in the back cover:

MUST have a hardware-backed keystore implementation, and perform the fingerprint matching in a Trusted Execution Environment (TEE) or on a chip with a secure channel to the TEE.

I’m not an expert though and might be completely wrong about this: Maybe it is possible.
[1]: http://static.googleusercontent.com/media/source.android.com/en//compatibility/android-cdd.pdf

1 Like

By definition the back cover is separate from inside parts, so I don’t think a “secure channel to the TEE” may be feasible.
Furthermore I wouldn’t trust any “biometric access granting” app if it could accept data from a plugged-in module, because otherwise it would very easy to tamper it and let it believe the data is yours.
And…I have to admit…I don’t trust biometric security applications at the moment (but it is only my point of view) :stuck_out_tongue:

4 Likes

Exactly my thoughts.

3 Likes

Yet you probably use a debit card. While I totally understand they have their differences with an external module, they too are vulnerable to tampering.

Plus, it could be possible to use the external module only as a sensor, akin to having an external keyboard to enter your password.

However that is the entire point: Only having an external sensor that passes in the fingerprint is not enough since Android requires the fingerprint to be processed in a “Trusted Execution Environment” which is not present in FP2 (afaik).

I’m sorry but I don’t get the point, we are talking about the fingerprint sensor support in FP2 for Android 6.0, not about of all the insecure hardware solutions in the world (that is: everything!) :wink: