Fairphone motivation! (University project: Call for experiences)

Hi everyone!

I am an International Business student with a concentration in Entrepreneuship. I am a french exchange student currently studying for 2 years at Northeastern University, in Boston MA. I am writing to you because I am writing a paper for my innovation class. And I chose to write it about Fairphone, because I am very interested by this innovative and responsible way of producing a smartphone. Indeed, I would like to work with corporate social responsibility at the end of college.

So, I would like to know what were your motivation to buy the Fairphone? If you bought it, are you happy with it? And what do you think about companies being more and more social, sustainable and responsible towards the community, the stakeholders and the planet.

Thank you for the answers !!! this will be very helpful :slight_smile:
Have a nice day !!!
Marie

2 Likes

Hi Marie,

I bought mine because it’s labled “fair” and the company seems to be transparent and trustworthy about that. Whenever I read the word “fair” or “environment friendly” on some product, it’s just superior to “normal” products in my mind, which is probably a little naive. But I hope to make the world a little bit better and fairer by supporting brands like fairphone. I don’t mind spending a little bit more money in order to do so.

This is not the only reason why I’ m happy with my phone though. Mine works just fine. It has eveything I need and looks pretty good. Although I’m probably going to buy the new camera module if it really should come (I had a Lumia 1020 before and it’s a huge step downwards from there) :wink:

Feel free to ask more if you need more stuff for your paper.

3 Likes

I got a Fairphone because my previous phone (Nokia C5) had to be sent in three times and still it was noflt fixed afterwards. I wanted a longer lasting phone and that’s what I got (with some minor compromises); my Fairphone 1 is almost 3 years old now.