Fairphone 4 and zoom/telelens?

Is it possible to attach an external zoom/tele lens 10x -20x to afp4 without interfering with the camera function?
I see there are two cameras plus a black lens opening, but do not know the significance of this.

That is a light sensor, explained in the specs > Expand Camera section

As far as zoom. If you can find an external lens there is no reason it would change any of the camera functions as it is a separate entity.

Yes, everyone you find and can be attached.
It must only match the main lense.

I have no experience with those lenses, but it’s possible, that they cover or shadow the sensors around the camera lens and therefore interfere with its functionality.

But give it a try and show some examples here :slight_smile: .

Might as well try it out, have ordered a 12x tele lens like
12x zoom.
Probably arrives in a weeks time for test.

1 Like

Here is a already started thread

2 Likes

Having received the 12x telelens for a smartphone, I have got a first impression and taken a few test photos.
Take into account that this is only a small test using the most common settings with the telelens attached.

I settled for a budget priced lens kit with a simple clamp to hold the lens.

Looking at the kit, it seems intended for (I)phones 6-10mm thick.
Two clamps are included, a slim one covering a single lens and a second one intended for dual lenses phones.
The fp4 is not slim enough for the two lenses clamp, but fortunately it is possible to make the single lens clamp fit with a small fix. And it does not cover the light sensor.
It is light, the lens and clamp weight less then 60 grams.

A small fix.

To avoid the lens to rotate or being displaced while adjusting the focus ring, I printed a mount to hold the clamp in place.
The FairPhone 4 case and dummy by nainno - Thingiverse was used as base, and modified to hold the clamp firmly in place.