Fairphone 3+ Androïd 11 nightmare

Hi, I did the update to 11 this morning. The “Finalization” process is stuck at like 15%, the phone app won’t work & everything lags. As I type that, the phone won’t even unlock (black screen). I am not very good at communication devices, and feel a bit overwhelmed as I am expected to work using my phone today. Help please?

Edit: I should precise that, incidentally, the troubleshooting page for FP3 are all 404 on my browser, I am not just being lazy :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi and welcome, so did you try to use the phone before the upgrade was finalized? No guarentee for anything, but I would restart the phone, you can long press (10-15sec) the power button, and see what happens

2 Likes

What happened precisely is, I agreed to the update, let my phone download and install it, then rebooted when it asked me to, and since reboot a notification shows “Finalizing system upgrade” (or something like that, my phone is in French). The progress bar was stuck at 15% for 15 minutes and I needed to make a call, so I did. I could make the call, but the app was quite hard to use from lag and display issues. And now I realize all apps are like that.

I guess something went wrong in the update procedure, but I can’t find out what and as I said, the troubleshooting pages are all 404 on my end, for now.

I did reboot one more time, remembering my IT basics :smiley: but it didn’t change anything, and the finalization process is still stuck (and now I am massively late).

Ok I have no real ideas and guess you interrupted the finalization process with the call. Too late this time, but you might want to do such big upgrades especially, when you really have time and there is not need to make calls inbetween. :speak_no_evil:

I can access all Support article ,so not sure what your issue is, maybe try another Browser and/or clear history